You are here : Home > ChromDev > Research project of the team

Research project of the team

Published on 24 January 2019



We employ various developmental genetics, molecular biology and biochemistry approaches to study
(i) the dynamics of chromatin landscapes during developmental transitions,
(ii) novel chromatin activator activities and their mechanisms,
(iii) nuclear and sub-cellular mechanisms associated with chloroplast biogenesis

Our strategy should allow understand the crosstalk between chromatin structure, transcription factor binding and communication between sub-cellular compartments, phenomenons often studied independently even though they are closely linked in the regulation of plant developmental transitions.

Dynamics of chromatin activation: temporal and spatial resolution at the developing flower
Plant ontogeny is associated with highly flexible cell fates that allow organogenetic programs to take place throughout the plant lifespan. During organogenesis, small clusters of stem cells acquire new fates before differentiating into specific cell types. Such events are initiated by the activation of developmental genes specific to clusters of cells that will give rise to specific organ primordia. We aim at deciphering the molecular events that take place at the level of the chromatin and underlie this transition. To this end, we develop and exploit new methodologies enabling a genome-wide analysis of chromatin activation dynamics. Our model of study is the Arabidopsis floral meristem for which genetic tools enable the isolation of synchronized tissues and/or specific tissue types, in large amounts. This permits to follow, in vivo, the transcriptional status of floral developmental genes at different stages of flower development.

Characterization of novel transcriptional and chromatin activators
We previously showed that ULTRAPETALA1 (ULT1), a plant-specific chromatin activator, induces gene expression through the removal of chromatin repressive marks. Taking ULT1 as an anchor, our goal is to identify novel transcriptional activators and characterize their molecular assembly during flower development in Arabidopsis. To that aim, we use (1) yeast-two-hybrid screen (2) Bimolecular Fluorescent Complementation and (3) in planta immuno-precipitation approaches.
Meta-analysis of binding maps for ULT1 and ULT1 partners, together with chromatin features will allow temporal resolution of their assembly and function during gene activation events.


Molecular and sub-cellular mechanisms associated with chloroplast biogenesis
Chloroplasts develop from proplastids in meristem cells but little is known about the genetic determinants of their biogenesis. The Plastid­Encoded RNA­Polymerase (PEP) complex, which is essential for building the photosynthetic apparatus, is profoundly reshaped during the dark-to-light transition, with the addition of 12 nuclear subunits named PAP (PEP-Associated Proteins), bringing the chimeric complex to a 1.1-MDa structure. Mutations in any PAP lead to albino/ivory or pale­-green plants with an arrested plastid development in which no or minor PEP activity is detected. We aim at deciphering the role of the PAPs in the nucleus, what is their trafficking route and whether they support retrograde signaling. The potential nuclear sub-complex contains PAPs with signature domains (DNA binding domains, SET methyltransferase domain), which indicate a role in gene expression and/or chromatin modification. Our goals are (1) in planta purification and characterization of PAP complexes; (2) uncoupling the subcellular functions of the bi-localized PAPs; (3) functional analysis of nuclear PAPs (chromatin binding profiles, influence on chromatin marks, effect on histone methylation status); and (4) assessing PAP trafficking from chloroplast to nucleus with a tag-based tracing system.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > ChromDev > Projet de recherche de l'équipe

Projet de recherche de l'équipe

Publié le 24 janvier 2019



Nous employons diverses approches de biologie moléculaire pour étudier (i) la dynamique des paysages chromatiniens, (ii) la dynamique de liaison des activateurs et autres facteurs de transcription (iii) et caractériser de nouveaux acteurs de l'activation de la chromatine. Notre approche devrait permettre de comprendre le dialogue qui s'installe entre remodelage de la chromatine et liaison des facteurs de transcription, deux événements souvent étudiés séparément et pourtant intimement liés.

Dynamique de l'activation de la chromatine : résolution spatiale et temporelle
Chez les plantes, l'ontogenèse est associée à une grande flexibilité du devenir cellulaire permettant l'initiation de programmes morphogénétiques tout au long du cycle de vie. Au cours de l'organogenèse, de petites niches de cellules méristématiques se destinent à la différentiation en types cellulaires spécifiques. De tels événements sont déclenchés par l'activation de gènes développementaux qui spécifient le type d'organe initié. Notre objectif est de comprendre les événements moléculaires qui se mettent en place au niveau de la chromatine pendant cette mutation. Pour cela nous développons des méthodologies permettant une analyse intégrée au niveau du génome de la dynamique d'activation de la chromatine. Notre modèle d'étude est le méristème floral d'Arabidopsis pour lequel des outils génétiques permettent d'isoler des tissus synchrones et/ou spécifiques. Nous pouvons en effet suivre, in vivo, l'état transcriptionnel des gènes architectes floraux à différents stades du développement de la fleur.

Caractérisation de nouveaux activateurs transcriptionnels et chromatiniens
Nous avons précédemment montré que l'activateur chromatinien ULTRAPETALA1 (ULT1) induit l'expression de gènes et le retrait de marques chromatiniennes répressives. En utilisant ULT1 comme point d'ancrage, nous visons à identifier de nouveaux activateurs transcriptionnels et caractériser leur assemblage moléculaire au cours du développement de la fleur d'Arabidopsis. Dans ce but, nous utilisons des approaches de (1) crible double hybride de levure (2) Complémentation de Fluorescence Bimoléculaire (BiFC) et (3) immuno-precipitation de complexes protéiques in planta.
La méta-analyse à l'échelle du génome des profils de liaison d'ULT1 et ses partenaires protéiques et de la dynamique des paysages chromatiniens donnera une résolution temporelle de leur assemblage et leur fonction au cours de l'activation de gènes.


Mécanismes moléculaires et sub-cellulaires associés à la biogenèse des chloroplastes
Les chloroplastes se développent à partir de proplastes dans les cellules du méristème, mais peu de données sont connues concernant les déterminants génétiques impliqués dans leur biogenèse. Le complexe "Plastid Encoded RNA Polymerase" (PEP), essentiel à la construction de l'appareil photosynthétique, est profondément remodelé durant la transition obscurité-lumière, par l'ajout de 12 sous-unités nucléaires nommées PAP (Protéines Associées au PEP), amenant la structure du complexe chimérique à une masse de 1,1 MDa. Des mutations dans les PAP conduisent à des plantes albinos / ivoires ou vert pâle présentant un arrêt de développement des plastes dans lesquels aucune activité PEP, même mineure, n'est détectée. Notre but est d'élucider le rôle des PAP dans le noyau, leur itinéraire de trafic et savoir si elles sont impliquées dans la signalisation rétrograde. Le sous-complexe nucléaire potentiel contient des PAP avec des domaines de signature (domaines de liaison à l'ADN, domaine de la méthyltransférase SET), qui indiquent un rôle dans l'expression des gènes et/ou la modification de la chromatine. Nos objectifs sont (1) la purification et la caractérisation des complexes PAP de plante (2) le découplage des fonctions subcellulaires des PAP bi-localisées (3) l'analyse fonctionnelle des PAP nucléaires (profils de liaison de la chromatine, influence sur les marques chromatiniennes, effet sur le statut de méthylation de l'histone) et (4) le décryptage du trafic des PAP du chloroplaste au noyau par un système de traçage.